Health care facilities use large amounts of energy to power their day to day operations. With this consumption comes a variety of opportunities to keep use low and efficient.

One low investment/high impact strategy is the adoption of simple energy efficient behaviors by staff…turning out lights, turning off equipment, and controlling temperatures. These easy tasks can save money and energy, whilst creating healing environments for patients.

Operation TLC, a program of Global Action Plan, assists health care facilities in implementing behavior change programs for energy savings.   GGHH is pleased to welcome them to share these strategies during  our upcoming webinar. They have also made a series of resources, signs, and placards to engage staff available to GGHH members.

Goals

  • Learn about the Operation TLC program and approach
  • Hear from GGHH members about their  successful efforts to implement energy efficiency measures by health care staff
  • Find out how to access these new member resources and get started in your own facility.

When?

February 22nd.  GGHH will be hosting two sessions to accommodate a variety of time zones. Both sessions will be recorded and require registration prior to the event.


Session 1:

  • Greenwich Mean Time (London, UK): 9 am
  • Central European Time: 10 am
  • South Africa Standard Time: 11 am
  • Nepal Time: 2.45 pm
  • Philippine Time and China Standard Time: 5 pm
  • Australia Eastern Standard Time: 7 pm

To register for session 1, click here | To check your time zone, click here.


Session 2:

  • Pacific Standard Time (San Francisco, USA): 9 am
  • Argentina Time: 2 pm
  • Greenwich Mean Time (London, UK): 5 pm
  • Central European Time: 6 pm
  • South Africa Standard Time: 7 pm

To register for session 2, click here | To check your time zone, click here.


Duration: 1 hour
Language: English
Free of charge.

Speakers

  • Natasha Parker: She is the Head of Health and Wellbeing programmes for Global Action Plan, leading the Operation TLC behaviour change initiative, which is being delivered in hospitals across the UK. She is an expert in the science of wellbeing and holds an MSc in Applied Positive Psychology from the University of East London.
    She has published an academic journal article on the relationship between Materialism and Wellbeing in the journal of Behaviour Therapy and Mental Health. Natasha has previously worked as Head of Community Courses for Action for Happiness where she designed and delivered courses aimed at improving wellbeing and conducted research for the “10 Keys to Happier Living” book.
    She also has a background in managing drug and alcohol treatment services and has worked for Public Health England as a Programme Manager for the London alcohol and drugs team.
  • Carla Wilson – Energy Technician: Carla joined Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust in Summer 2013 having previously worked in the renewable energy sector. Since joining the Trust, Carla has saved in excess of £1.2 million pounds annually from the Trusts energy bills and secured over £1.8 million of external funding for energy efficiency projects. Projects implemented include exchanging steam calorifiers with plate heat exchangers for improved heating and hot water provisions, installation of CHP units and a gas turbine economiser, LED lighting upgrades throughout the hospital and improving the Building Management System (BMS).
    Carla studied at Lancaster University where she holds a BSc (Hons) in Sustainable Engineering and an MSc Engineering (by Research).  Her research on the ‘Environmental Impact of Product Recovery Methods to Support Sustainable Manufacturing within Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises (SMEs)’  was awarded international recognition for ‘Excellence in Research’.
  • Jamie Sweet, Project Manager for Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (UK).
    Jamie joined Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust in July 2014 and works within the Transformation team on long term strategic and cost improvement programmes. Jamie has worked on a number of cross cutting schemes across the Trust involving the review of patient pathways, workforce development, corporate redesign and wider estates programmes.
    Jamie studied at the University of Stirling where he achieved a BA in Business Studies / Marketing, which included a year exchange at the University of Massachusetts. Since graduating Jamie has worked in a number of different roles in the USA & UK, in both the private and public sector.
  • Cindy Crompton, Operations Manager for Inkosi Albert Luthuli Central Hospital (South Africa)
  • Melanie Maxwell, Operations Executive for Inkosi Albert Luthuli Central Hospital (South Africa). Melanie is a professional, academic, and practical Operator in the Facilities Management arena. Melanie has been in the Facilities Management industry for the past 16 years. Her current position is that of a Regional Operations Executive with Tsebo Facilities Solutions over-seeing a multiple of sites within the KwaZulu Natal Region. Melanie has completed a Leadership Development Programme through Gordon Institute of Business Science (GIBS) University of Pretoria (LDP) and also holds a Diploma in Business Administration.

Those who participate in the entire webinar will receive a Certificate of Attendance by email. When you complete the registration form, please provide your name as you would like it to appear on the Certificate of Attendance.

To watch the tutorials on how to connect audio during the webinar, click here.