“Tackling climate change could be the greatest global health opportunity of the 21st century”, assures the Lancet Commission Report on Health and Climate Change.

This Commission maps out the impacts of climate change, and the necessary policy responses, to ensure the highest attainable standards of health for populations worldwide. For more information and to download the report, click here.

Goals

  • Review the history, background and recommendations of the Lancet Commission on Health and Climate Change
  • Discuss case examples of health system implementation of the recommendations

Main Speaker

1a02108

Nick Watts, the lead author and head of project for the 2015 Lancet Commission on Health and Climate Change, will be the main speaker in the upcoming webinar.

Nick also works for the World Health Organization’s Department of Public Health, Environmental and Social Determinants of Health, and as director of the Global Climate and Health Alliance.

His research interests include health system strengthening and reform processes; the application of complexity theory to development economics; and the protection and promotion of public health through sustainable development and climate change mitigation.

Register!

GGHH will be hosting two sessions to accommodate a variety of time zones. Both sessions will be recorded and require registration prior to the event.

Session 1 | Tuesday, September 29th: 7 pm Pacific Time Zone (USA), 10 pm Eastern Daylight Time (USA), 11 pm Argentina Time Zone. Wednesday, September 30th: 4 am Central European Time Zone and South Africa Time Zone, 7.45 am Nepal Time Zone, 10 am Philippine Time Zone and China Standard Time Zone, 12 pm Australian Eastern Time Zone.

Session 2 | Wednesday, September 30th: 7 am Pacific Time Zone (USA), 10 am Eastern Daylight Time (USA), 11 am Argentina Time Zone, 4 pm Central European Time Zone and South Africa Time Zone, 7.45 pm Nepal Time Zone and 10 pm Philippine Time Zone and China Standard Time Zone.

Duration: 1 hour

Language: English

Cost: Free of charge.

Those who participate in the entire webinar will receive a Certificate of Attendance by email. When you complete the registration form, please provide your name as you would like it to appear on the Certificate of Attendance.

To watch the tutorials on how to connect audio during the webinar, click here.

Speakers

  • Josh Karliner: International Team Coordinator and Director of Global Projects, Health Care Without Harm. In this capacity he works to support the development of HCWH’s work in Asia, Africa and Latin America, while also overseeing the organization’s global campaign on climate change, the development of the Global Green and Healthy Hospitals Network and HCWH’s collaboration with WHO to eliminate mercury in health care.
  • Brenna Davis: Director of Sustainability at Virginia Mason Medical Center, one of the top 25 greenest hospitals in the United States, according to Practice Greenhealth. She is the co-founder and chair of Washington Business for Climate Action, an organization calling for climate action on behalf of over 250 Washington State businesses. She is also the founder of the Pacific Northwest Health Care Sustainability Leaders Roundtable, and serves on the Advisory Board of Huxley College for the Environment, one of the oldest environmental colleges in the United States.
  • Renzo Guinto: Campaigner for the Healthy Energy Initiative of Health Care Without Harm-Asia. He is a physician interested in global health, health systems, and social and environmental determinants of health. He is also co-founder and director of #ReimagineGlobalHealth, a youth think-and-do tank for the world’s health, and is a member of various groups including the University of the Philippines Manila Universal Health Care Study Group, The Lancet-University of Oslo Youth Commission on Global Governance for Health, and the World Health Organization steering committee on transformative health professions education and social determinants of health.

2020 Health Care Climate Challenge

The  Lancet Commission Report on Health and Climate Change  remarks that “by moving toward low carbon health systems, health care can mitigate its own climate impact, become more resilient to the impacts of climate change, save money and lead by example.”  Indeed, working with health care to reduce its own emissions helps set the stage to engage health care’s moral, political and economic clout in addressing climate change.

2020 low res logo no gghhTo help fulfill this potential, GGHH has launched the 2020 Health Care Climate Challenge, a global initiative that is bringing together leading hospitals and health systems from every continent to announce their commitment to measurably reducing their own carbon footprint.  The initiative is designed to garner commitments, measure footprint reduction and simultaneously forge long-term health care leadership in advocacy for climate mitigation to protect public health.

New Climate Awards Program: As part of the 2020 Health Care Climate Challenge, the first set of awards will be announced in Paris during the United Nations Conference on Climate Change this December. Hospitals, health systems, and health organizations around the globe are making incredible strides to reduce their impacts on and prepare for climate change. Now, through the 2020 Challenge, these organizations can receive global recognition for their leadership role in the movement toward a low carbon health sector and a healthy climate. To learn more and to participate, click here.