This webinar will feature speakers from GGHH members around the world that will present examples of their work on leadership. Register for free and understand why leadership support for green and healthy hospitals is critical in order to create long-term organizational culture change; realize widespread health worker and community engagement; and foster public policy that promotes environmental health.

Goals

  • Explore executive leadership’s role in sustainability projects.
  • Understand why leadership support for green and healthy hospitals is critical in order to create long-term organizational culture change; realize widespread health worker and community engagement; and foster public policy that promotes environmental health.
  • Learn about Global Green and Healthy Hospitals and the community of organizations that come together to share best practices.
  • Learn how sustainability efforts pay for themselves through cost savings associated with environmental improvement activities.

Main Speaker

Jeff ThompsonJeff Thompson, MD, is a pediatric intensivist and neonatologist, executive advisor and chief executive officer emeritus at Gundersen Health System, in the USA. He will share his tips for leadership and sustainability programming—for the bottom line, for the community, for staff, patients and the planet.

A founding member and past board chair of the Wisconsin Collaborative for Healthcare Quality and a 2013 White House Champion of Change, Dr. Thompson has led Gundersen’s nationally-recognized initiatives for patient care, quality improvement and sustainability.

Gundersen Health has won numerous accolades, including Practice Greenhealth’s Top 25 Award and the first hospital to achieve energy independence, meaning, at Gundersen, they generate MORE energy than they use. They hit this milestone on October 14, 2014. Gundersen reduced their energy use by 40 percent and realized savings of over $2 million per year.

Register

GGHH will be hosting two sessions to accommodate a variety of time zones. Both sessions will be recorded and require registration prior to the event.

Session 1 | Wednesday, February 17th: 7 am Pacific Time Zone (USA), 9 am Central Time Zone (USA), 12 pm Argentina Time Zone, 4 pm Central European Time Zone, 5 pm South Africa Time Zone, 8.45 pm Nepal Time Zone, 11 pm Philippine Time Zone and China Standard Time Zone.

Session 2Wednesday, February 17th: 5 pm Pacific Time Zone (USA), 7 pm Central Time Zone (USA), 10 pm Argentina Time Zone. Thursday, February 18th: 6.45 am Nepal Time Zone, 9 am Philippine Time Zone and China Standard Time Zone and 12 pm Australian Eastern Time Zone.

Duration: 1 hour

Language: English

Cost: Free of charge.

Those who participate in the entire webinar will receive a Certificate of Attendance by email. When you complete the registration form, please provide your name as you would like it to appear on the Certificate of Attendance.

To watch the tutorials on how to connect audio during the webinar, click here.

Speakers

  • Chris Hill: Director of Environmental Sustainability for Mater Health Services Brisbane and a part time Sustainable Healthcare project officer for the Climate and Health Alliance of Australia to promote the Global Green and Healthy hospitals network.  Chris believes top management support and staff engagement are the keys for organisational uptake of Sustainability, and to date Chris has led the implementation of more than 160 initiatives at Mater around key themes of Energy, Water, Waste, Procurement, Facilities Design, Transport and Stakeholder Engagement.
  • Sonia Roschnik: International Lead at the Sustainable Development Unit (SDU) for the NHS, Public Health and Social Care system in England where she has worked since 2008. The unit has developed plans for a system wide approach which include a Carbon Reduction Strategy (2009), Route Map to Sustainable Health (2010) and a Sustainable Development Strategy (2014) in close partnership and regular consultation across England. She was Deputy Director of Operations at Cambridge University Hospitals Foundation Trust for 4 years after managing a major new building development and leading on emergency planning. Sonia has worked as an advisor to WHO and UNDP supporting the development of guidance for greening health care systems, sustainable processes and climate change adaptation plans, and is a Faculty Member of the SDU/Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership “Global Course on Leadership and Sustainable Health”.
  • Sister Arcelita Sarnillo: SPC, administrator of St. Paul Hospital, Cavite, Dasmariñas, Cavite, Philippines. She started her ecological advocacy 14 years ago through solid health care waste management in General Santos Doctors’ Hospital, General Santos City. This advocacy has expanded to holistic initiatives to care for Mother Earth, such as: rainwater harvesting, vermicomposting, recycling, chemicals replacement, etc.  She strongly believes in Pope Francis’ statement ,”Climate change is a social, human and ecological crisis.” Her undergraduate course was Nursing with graduate studies in Nursing and Hospital Administration. In her stint as Provincial Assistant for Health Care (2009 -2014) she was able to implement solid waste management in Our Lady of Chartres Convent, Antipolo, Philippines. She is member of the Board of Trustees of some SPC owned hospitals and the Asst. Treasurer of the Private Hospitals Association of the Philippines.