The Role of Health Care During COP 21

During the United Nation’s Conference on Climate Change (COP21), an unprecedented alliance of doctors, nurses, and others representing more than 1700 health organizations, 8200 hospitals, and 13 million health professionals came together in Paris to call on governments to reach a strong agreement to protect public health. And they committed to leading the way toward climate solutions by promoting low carbon healthcare, climate resilient health systems, and healthcare leadership to combat climate change.

Health Care Without Harm and leaders of Global Green and Healthy Hospitals (GGHH) actively participated in the COP21 through a series of side events, during which health system representatives from around the world came together to announce their commitments to reduce carbon emissions and exert leadership to combat climate change. The primary vehicle to mobilize healthcare for Paris and beyond on climate was and is the 2020 Health Care Climate Challenge.  For a summary of what happened in the events, read the Paris Round-up | The New Climate Treaty and Health Care Action.

Join this webinar to learn about what has been characterized as “the most important global public health agreement of the century” and next steps for health sector leadership to ensure that health is a central consideration in climate mitigation and adaptation.

Goals

  • Analyze the outcomes of the climate negotiations from COP21
  • Discuss strategies for health sector leadership to tackle climate change
  • Update on the work being done by 2020 Health Care Climate Challenge Award Winners (for information on the awards, click here)

When

GGHH will be hosting two sessions to accommodate a variety of time zones. Both sessions will be recorded and require registration prior to the event.

Session 1 | Wednesday, January 20th: 7 am Pacific Standard Time (USA), 10 am Eastern Standard Time (USA), 12 pm Argentina Time, 4 pm Central European Time, 5 pm South Africa Standard Time, 8.45 pm Nepal Time, 11 pm China Standard Time.

Session 2 | Wednesday, January 20th: 7 pm Pacific Time Zone (USA), 10 pm Eastern Standard Time (USA). Wednesday, January 21st: 12 am Argentina Time, 4 am Central European Time, 8.45 am Nepal Time, 11 am China Standard Time and Philippine Time, 2 pm Australian Eastern Daylight Time.

Duration: 1 hour

Language: English

Cost: Free of charge.

Those who participate in the entire webinar will receive a Certificate of Attendance by email. When you complete the registration form, please provide your name as you would like it to appear on the Certificate of Attendance.

To watch the tutorials on how to connect audio during the webinar, click here.

Speakers

  • Josh Karliner: International Team Coordinator and Director of Global Projects, Health Care Without Harm. In this capacity he works to support the development of HCWH’s work in Asia, Africa, Europe and Latin America, while also overseeing the organization’s global campaign on climate change, the development of the Global Green and Healthy Hospitals Network and HCWH’s collaboration with WHO to eliminate mercury in health care.
  • Joseph Griffin: leads Bupa’s (United Kingdom) work linking health and environment, with a focus on the impacts of climate change and air pollution. He is responsible for leading the deployment of 900 renewable and low carbon projects throughout Bupa as part of the award winning 20% by 2015 Network to cut CO2 by 20%.
    Prior to Bupa, Joe worked for Vodafone, one of the world’s largest mobile telecommunications companies. While at Vodafone, Joe led a number of areas including environment, ethics in supply chain and delivered a number of successful commercial innovations aimed at providing solar power for off-grid communities and households in rural Africa, utilising the MPesa payment platform. He also co-authored the Connected Women report, examining how mobile can support women’s economic and social empowerment with focus on emerging markets and health, education and entrepreneurship.
  • Elizabeth Wiley:  senior resident at the University of Maryland. She is a past president of the American Medical Student Association and Deputy Chair of the World Medical Association (WMA) Junior Doctors Network. Passionate about climate change and health, Liz has represented the WMA at UNFCCC negotiations and co-coordinated the WMA’s delegation at COP21 in Paris.
  • Ming-Nan Lin: Vice Superintendent at Buddhist Dalin Tzu Chi General Hospital (Taiwan). He has a Master in Public Health and devoted himself to community outreach and international disaster relief. He is an esteemed health educator, speaker, facilitator, TV host, scholar and assistant professor who have inspired thousands in hospitals, government, schools and communities to promote well-being with a holistic approach. As a renowned family medicine practitioner for more than 20 years, he’s passionate about promoting plant-based diet as the best choice for both enhancing health and protecting the environment. As part the board of the Taiwan Vegetarian Nutrition Society and a member of Task Force on Health Promoting Hospital & Environment (WHO-CC) he aspires to see hospitals achieve the goals of health and environmental protection. He emphasized that doctors should cherish their ability to help others. When everyone does a little more, there will have be an opportunity to change the world.
  • Rachelle Wenger: the Director of Public Policy and Community Advocacy for Dignity Health, USA. She is primarily responsible for advancing the organization’s Public Policy & Advocacy Priorities, mobilizing grassroots advocacy efforts and developing partnerships in the community. Among many policy priorities, she manages environmental and sustainability issues, including climate change, energy, water, and toxic chemicals; as well as social justice issues, including immigration reform, human trafficking, and homelessness.