Goal

Discuss how hospitals can protect public health by reducing the volume and toxicity of waste produced while implementing the most environmentally sound waste management and disposal options.

Objectives

  1. Identify health risks from health care waste to patients, workers and communities
  2. Describe strategies for waste minimization, recycling and sustainable management of hazardous waste
  3. Identify/describe various tools and resources to support the implementation of a comprehensive strategy for health care waste management
  4. Hear about successfully implemented waste management projects

When

GGHH will be hosting two sessions to accommodate a variety of time zones. Both sessions will be recorded and requiere registration prior to the event.

Session 1 | Wednesday, August 19th: 7 am Pacific Time Zone, 10 am Eastern Daylight Time, 11 am Argentina Time Zone, 3 pm United Kingdom Time Zone, 4 pm Central European Time Zone, 4 pm South Africa Time Zone, 7.45 pm Nepal Time Zone, 10 pm Philippine Time Zone, 10 pm China Time Zone.

Session 2 |  Thursday, August 20th:  7 am United Kingdom Time Zone, 8 am Central European Time Zone, 8 am South Africa Time Zone, 11.45 am Nepal Time Zone, 2 pm Philippine Time Zone, 2 pm China Time Zone, 3 pm South Korea Time Zone, 4 pm Australian Eastern Time Zone.

Duration: 1 hour

Language: English

Cost: Free of charge.

Those who participate in the entire webinar will receive a Certificate of Attendance by email. When you complete the registration form, please provide your name as you would like it to appear on the Certificate of Attendance.

To watch the tutorials on how to connect audio during the webinar, click here.

Speakers

  • Ruth Stringer is the international science and policy coordinator for Health Care Without Harm.  She spent over 15 years in pollution research, including hazardous waste, political strategies to avoid it and the technologies to destroy it, at the Universities of London and Exeter in the UK before she turned her attention to medical waste.
  • Sergio García is a General Director of the Health Department in Xàtiva (Valencia, Spain). MD, MBA, a Family and Community Medicine Specialist. For 15 years, he has devoted his professional life to hospital management in private and public hospitals. He has had the opportunity to implement environmental management systems in dialysis units. Since then, he has been investigating hazardous waste management in hospitals and outpatient clinics with the aim of improving environmental health from a health care activity perspective.
  • Neilor Cardoso Guilherme is currently the Environmental Engineer responsible for the environmental management system of the Municipal Hospital of Vila Santa Catarina, managed by Sociedade Beneficente Israelita Brasileira Albert Einstein. He is Environmental Engineering by Universidade São Marcos, with over 10 years of experience in healthcare waste management.
  • Sheila Villarojo Yap is an infection Control Nurse in the Maria Reyna-Xavier University Hospital, Inc. in Philippines.
  • Mahesh Nakarmi is a founding member of Health Care Foundation Nepal (HECAF) where he pioneered a model of appropriate technology and a welcome solution to the problems of medical waste in developing countries.  Now he a leading Health Care Waste Management Specialist nationally and also in the region. He is also the founder of Nepal’s National Kidney Center, now the largest kidney dialysis center in Nepal. A civil engineer by academically, Mahesh Nakarmi is also co-founder of the National (Nepal) Society for Earthquake Technology and now provides consulting service on how to prepare and respond to natural disasters like earthquakes and other mass casualty events. He is also the founder and current Executive Director (Voluntary) of the Nepal Ambulance Service, the first and only professional pre-hospital emergency medical service in the country.