Join the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and Health Care Without Harm in the launch of their new report: Chemicals of Concern for the Health Sector.

On February 25, 3 PM CET (9 AM EST, 11 AM ART, 5 PM TRT) experts will discuss the chemicals used in the health care sector, as some of them may pose environmental or health hazards (Check your timezone)

This online session will feature different case examples that demonstrate how hospitals have successfully substituted chemicals and chemicals in products with more sustainable alternatives. This experience shows how health systems are moving away from hazardous products by substituting them with safer alternatives.

Download Chemicals of Concern for the health sector

 

This new document is based on the report Chemicals of Concern to Health and Environment, published in 2018 by Health Care Without Harm and UNDP, as part of the Sustainable Health in Procurement Project (SHiPP). This new document captures and expands the information of the chemicals used specifically in health care, and is designed to help health care facilities identify the type of hazards, the application and use of the chemicals, and their safer alternatives.

Chemicals of Concern for the Health Sector will prove to be a useful resource also for suppliers, to identify products and substitution with less hazardous, clinically appropriate alternatives.

When

February 25, 3 PM CET | 9 AM EST | 11 AM ART | 5 PM TRT (Check your timezone)

Speakers

  • Laura Altinger: Regional Team Leader, Nature, Climate, and Energy, UNDP Eastern Europe and Central Asia
  • Megha Rathi: SHiPP coordinator, Health Care Without Harm
  • Tshepo Mokhadi: Chief environmental officer, Bongani Regional Hospital, Free State, South Africa
  • Queen Tsoeu: Assistant director in supply chain management, Bongani Regional Hospital, Free State, South Africa.

Moderator

Susan Wilburn: International sustainability director, Health Care Without Harm

 

Download Chemicals of Concern for the health sector