In observance of World Day for Safety and Health at Work, GGHH and the Sustainable Health in Public Procurement project (SHiPP) are pleased to announce an upcoming webinar: Ethylene Oxide – Health Impacts and Safe Alternatives on 16 May 2019.

Ethylene oxide is a commonly used disinfectant for medical device sterilization and a known human carcinogen. The latest research and science is raising new issues related to the compound, showing elevated risks of cancer for communities around ethylene oxide processing facilities.

Join this webinar to learn how you can use safer alternatives to ethylene oxide to protect the occupational health of health workers. 

Presenters

Dr. Peter Orris, Senior Adviser to HCWH, will present on the health impacts, toxicology and epidemiology of ethylene oxide and provide information on the safety and availability of alternatives. He will also share the latest news about the Chicago area (U.S.) processing facilities that have been at the center of community concerns and regulatory action.

When

Thursday 16 May 2019
  • 6:30 am Pacific Standard Time
  • 9:30 am Eastern Standard Time
  • 10:30 am Buenos Aires, Argentina and São Paolo, Brazil
  • 2:30 pm London, UK
  • 3:30 pm Central Europe Time and South Africa Standard Time
  • 4:30 pm Istanbul, Turkey

Register for the webinar