On 16 August 2017, the Minamata Convention on Mercury entered into force, obliging countries from around the globe to phase out mercury-containing thermometers and blood pressure devices by 2020, and to phase-down their use of dental amalgam.

Health Care Without Harm (HCWH) has been a leader in the work to substitute mercury-based medical devices with accurate, affordable alternatives for the past 15 years. Working with thousands of hospitals and health systems, dozens of ministries of health, WHO and other other international organizations, HCWH succeeded at advancing mercury-free health care.

Now that this global treaty is in place, countries need to develop and implement national, health-system wide strategies and programs to phase out the import, manufacture and export of such devices.

Join this webinar and learn from experts on the health and environmental impacts of mercury, about the requirements for hospitals under the Minamata Convention and how your institution can phase out mercury containing devices and replace them with safer alternatives.

When:

Day: 30 August 2017

Time:

  • Pacific Daylight Time: 6 am
  • Eastern Daylight Time: 9 am
  • Argentina Time and Brasilia Time: 10 am
  • Central European Summer Time and South Africa Standard Time: 3 pm
  • Nepal Time: 6.45 pm
  • China Standard Time and Philippine Time: 9 pm
  • Australian Eastern Standard Time: 11 pm

To check you time zone, click here.

Register

Duration: 1 hour
Language: English
Free of charge.
Those who participate in the entire webinar will receive a Certificate of Attendance by email. When you complete the registration form, please provide your name as you would like it to appear on the Certificate of Attendance.

Speakers:

  • Dr Peter Orris, MD, MPH, is a Professor and Chief of Service at the Occupational Health Service Institute within the University of Illinois Hospital and Health Sciences System, USA. The strategic work of Dr. Orris has been critical to the worldwide environmental health movement.
    He was one of HCWH’s founders in 1996 and has advised communities all over the world on the dangers of incineration and other toxic chemical exposures. Dr. Orris attended every negotiating session of the Minamata Treaty on Mercury. He was the critical clinical voice in the negotiations to inform governments about the dangers of mercury, the availability of safer measuring devices, and the momentum of the healthcare sector in eliminating mercury from their facilities. As a result of his advocacy with HCWH staff and allies around the world, the Minamata Convention contains a provision for the global phase out of mercury based measuring devices by the year 2020.
  • Faye Ferrer is the coordinator for Global Green and Healthy Hospitals in the Southeast Asian region. She led the first Southeast Asian Mercury-Free Health Care Conference held in the Philippines in 2006 and HCWH and WHO’s mercury-free health care health care initiative in the region. This work provided an instrumental input into the Minamata Convention on Mercury negotiations because it showed that substituting mercury containing measuring devices in health care was achievable, and could be done.
    Ms. Ferrer has led the Safer Chemicals Campaign in Asia. She has developed collaborative partnerships between HCWH and other non-government organizations such as the Citizen’s Alliance for Consumer Protection, the Legal Rights and Natural Resources Center-Kasama sa Kalikasan, Greenpeace Southeast Asia, and the Clean Energy Tour of Southeast Asia.